CCSD21 announces administrative members of transportation committee

November 2, 2023

Topic: Updates

Community Consolidated School District 21 offered an update on the formation of its transportation committee during the October meeting of its board of education, announcing the administrators who will serve as part of the committee.

These include Dr. Joe Arduino, principal of Tarkington Elementary School; Tyler Smith, assistant principal of London Middle School; Joanie Murphy, assistant principal of Twain Elementary School; Dr. Ali Zimmerman, assistant principal of instructional improvement at Holmes Middle School; Sara Rosheger, assistant principal of Longfellow Elementary School; and Anne Cordina, assistant principal of Cooper Middle School.

Micheal DeBartolo, assistant superintendent for finance and operations, also informed the board the district has received 49 parent/guardian volunteer applications so far, but would be seeking a few more in hopes of representing every school.

At the time of publication, the district is still confirming the availability and willingness of volunteers to participate, but it is anticipated that the members will be announced soon. Meetings are then anticipated to begin in mid- to late-November.

The district is now working to get the necessary information for the committee’s initial meeting, which should happen “in early November,” according to DeBartolo.

The committee will serve as an advisory board to the district to gather information and make the decisions on future transportation routes, including taking a comprehensive look at the entire district transportation process and the impact of adding or removing hazardous designations to particular areas, and working with First Student to examine the rescoring process of the district’s current hazardous routes.